IPL 2023 Final | Chennai Super Kings beat Gujarat Titans by five wickets to win fifth title

Chennai Super Kings’ Ravindra Jadeja celebrates with captain MS Dhoni after winning the Indian Premier League 2023 final against Gujarat Titans in Ahmedabad on May 29, 2023. | Photo Credit: KR Deepak

Chennai Super Kings claimed a record-equalling fifth Indian Premier League title with a five-wicket win over Gujarat Titans in a rain-affected but thrilling summit showdown here on Monday.

B. Sai Sudharsan smashed 96 off 47 balls as Gujarat Titans posted 214 for four after being asked to bat first.

Set a revised target of 171 in 15 overs after rain interrupted play at the start of the second innings of the final which was pushed to the reserve day due to heavy downpour, CSK completed the task with the last ball in a Narendra Modi-led Stadium during what could be the legendary Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s last outing in the T20 league.

CSK vs GT live score, IPL final live update

Ravindra Jadeja scored a six and a four off Mohit Sharma in the last two balls to win it for CSK.

Earlier, GT started with the opening duo of Wriddhiman Saha and Shubman Gill who put on 67 runs in seven overs.

While Gill was sent back by star left-arm spinning all-rounder Jadeja for a 20-ball 39, Saha made 54 off 39 balls to lay a solid foundation for a formidable total.

Saha was dismissed by seamer Deepak Chahar, who dropped Gill when the batter was on 3.

Sudharsan, who has also been in good form in recent times, hit six sixes and eight fours in his whirlwind knock.

Tushar Deshpande gave away 56 runs in his four overs.


Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha c Dhoni b Chahar 54 Shubman Gill st Dhoni b Jadeja 39 B Sai Sudharsan lbw b Pathirana 96 Hardik Pandya not out 21 Rashid Khan c Gaikwad b Pathiran 0 Extras: (B-1, LB-1, W-2) 4

Total: ( For 4 wickets in 20 overs) 214

Fall of wickets: 1-67, 2-131, 3-212, 4-214

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad c Rashid Khan b Noor Ahmad 26 Devon Conway c Sharma b Noor Ahmad 47 Shivam Dube not out 32 Ajinkya Rahane c Shankar b Sharma 27 Ambati Rayudu c & b Sharma 19 Dhoni c Miller b Sharma 0 Ravindra Jadeja not out 15 Extras: ( LB-1, W-4) 5

Total: (For 5 wickets in 15 overs) 171

Fall of wickets: 1-74, 2-78, 3-117, 4-149, 5-149

Chennai Super Kings bowling: Mohammed Shami 3-0-29-0, Hardik Pandya 1-0-14-0, Rashid Khan 3-0-44-0, Noor Ahmad 3-0-17-2, Josh Little 2-0-30-0, Mohit Sharma 3-0-36-3

The teams

Chennai Super Kings: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni(w/c), Deepak Chahar, Matheesha Pathirana, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana

Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha(w), Shubman Gill, Sai Sudharsan, Hardik Pandya(c), Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Mohit Sharma, Noor Ahmad, Mohammed Shami

Dr Ahsan Khan

Dr Ahsan Khan is Content Writer for Sports section on He is very Passionate about sports tournament, Games Activity, Current Affairs etc. Contact: [email protected]

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button