New Zealand won the ODI series 1-0 against India as rain held off

After the Indians lost the T20I series by 1-0, New Zealand on 30 November clinched the ODI series by 1-0. The third and final match of the series – played in Christchurch – was called off due to rain.

Earlier in the day, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and opted to field first. Indian opener Shubman Gill lost his wicket to Adam Milne when India were playing on 43. Subsequently, the Indian skipper, who was in good form, also lost the wicket of Milne.

ALSO READ: India Vs NZ 3rd T20I: India won the T20 series 1-0 against New Zealand

Soon after this, Indian wickets fell in quick succession, and apart from Washington Sundar (51), no other player crossed the 50-run mark. Even Shreyas Iyer (49) missed his half-century by a run. India were all out in the 48th over and could barely put a score of 219 runs on the scoreboard.

For the Kiwis, Adam Milne and Daryl Mitchell proved to be the most successful bowlers, taking three wickets each. Tim Southee took 2 wickets, while Lockie Ferguson and Mitchell Santner took one wicket each.

When the Kiwis came in to bat, they looked determined and focused. Opener Finn Allen scored 57 runs off just 54 balls and was dismissed by young Indian bowler Umran Malik. Until rain stopped play, Devon Conway (38) and skipper Kane Williamson (0) were batting. New Zealand got 104/1 in 18 overs.

Sushil Tiwari

Sushil Tiwari is Content researcher for Sports section on

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button